Junior Member Registered Member

System for 2000 BMW 323i - Eclipse, Alphasonik

I just bought a 2000 BMW 323i and want to drop a system in it. I'm a bit of an amateur audiophile and my biggest priority is sound quality. My music tastes are mostly acoustic (Dave Matthews, David Gray, Norah Jones), alternative (Linkin Park, Radiohead), world (AfroCelt Soundsystem, Morcheeba), and a bit of trance.

Here's the (a) setup I'm looking at:
    Head Unit - EQ w/control for F/R/Sub - Amps - Components (F), 2-Way or Components for (R) fill - 10" sub.

All wiring will be replaced with aftermarket upraded wiring, distribution block, and cap for my sub.

Head Unit
    I need a headdeck that has an input for my iPod (Eclipse w/aux in, Alpine w/iPod interface). I'm looking probably at Eclipse for the headdeck, but am open to an alternative. Possibly the Eclipse CD8053 or an equivalent Alpine deck.

EQ
    My music tastes are mostly acoustic (Dave Matthews, David Gray, Norah Jones), alternative (Linkin Park, Radiohead), world (AfroCelt Soundsystem, Morcheeba), and a bit of trance.

Eclipse 2100 - 8 Band in-dash EQ w/Non-fade sub control

Speakers
    I want 2-way components for the front and am thinking of either Eclipse (SC8264) or Infinity (Kappa Perfect 6.1). For the rear, I'd either duplicate the selection for the fronts, or use something like the Eclipse Point Source (SP8964). These would be primarily for rear fill.

Sub
    Single 10" is probably ideal, as I'm not into tons of base, just want to fill out and complete the system. Again, considering the music choice, I want something that's tight and responsive. So, I'm considering either the Eclipse 10" (SW7504DVC) or the Infinity 10" (Kappa Perfect 10vQ or Kappa Perfect 10.1D).

Amps